Anotheryarn Eats

October 8, 2009

Fish Tacos

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 3:40 pm

I was thrilled and proud that we used up almost all of the veggies in our fridge before this week’s pick-up.  When I list out what was left (1 green cabbage, 1 small red cabbage, 1 bunch beets, 1 carrot, 4 oz green beans, some green onion stalks; oh yes and some onions and potatoes) it looks like a long list – but really isn’t that much produce when you try and have produce be the bulk of your meal.  I have plans for that bunch of beets (as well as a bunch of beets that are already roasted) and the carrot.  I had plans for the green beans but they fell through.  This is how every week is supposed to be, but too often, even though we downsized to a half-share, I could come up with a Sunday-Friday meal plan on Sunday (not that I’ve been meal-planning lately, but I’m trying to get back into it).

And so, on Sunday while listening to The Splendid Table (Mario Batali has fish taco night on Thursdays) I decided to make fish tacos on Tuesday.  It would use some cabbage and green onions but not be too dependent on veggies (and not require me to buy anything that we might just get in our share that day).  I took a look at Monterey Bay Aquarium’s Seafood Watch guide to help me pick a fish, then did a search on Epicurious to help me decide how to prepare everything.  Now some will say fish tacos are breaded and fried fish in corn tortillas with a fresh salsa and/or creamy sauce but I grew up with grilled fish tacos (but both are quite tasty when done right, the former when done wrong ends up like fish sticks wrapped in a tortilla) and was feeling a bit out of my element since I hardly ever cook fish.  I settled on loosely following this recipe for Baja Fish Tacos.  And when I say loosely I mean loosely.  I didn’t use the recommended fish, just the marinade (with half the oil) and the crema (done with lemon juice since I was running out of lime juice); the slaw sounded really good but I knew we wouldn’t use that much shredded cabbage so I kept it plain for better storage.

fish tacosFish Tacos, fish marinade from Epicurious

  • about 1 lb fish, aim for a mild white flesh fish
  • fish marinade
    • 1/4 c oil
    • 3 T lime juice
    • 5 t chile powder
    • 1 1/2 t cumin
    • 1 1/2 t ground coriander
    • pinch salt
  • shredded cabbage
  • sliced green onions
  • cilantro
  • sour cream turned “crema
    • sour cream
    • plain yogurt
    • lemon juice
  • salsa
  • lime wedges
  • corn tortillas

Whisk the marinade together, and place the fish in it.  Shred the cabbage, slice the green onion, stir together the crema (note my sour cream, yogurt and lemon juice method was only semi-successful).  Cook your fish (the recipe suggest grilling which is nice but we just pan fried/sauted it).  Plate and cut into smaller pieces.  Heat a tortilla, place some fish, crema, salsa, cabbage, green onions and cilantro in it.  Squeeze a wedge of lime over the taco right before eating.

1 Comment »

  1. the tacos look really good

    Comment by Mom — October 8, 2009 @ 4:23 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

