Anotheryarn Eats

September 24, 2009

Summer Stew

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , , , , — anotheryarn @ 2:16 pm

A friend pointed me in the direction of this Summer Vegetable Stew, stating that it fit her CSA share very well.  For us, not so much (probably a matter of geography), but on Sunday while I was at the Farmer’s Market getting more peaches (crazy), I realized that we had tomatoes, summer squash and onion at home, and hey look there is a vendor with corn!   While this dish has a decent amount of chopping involved (as so many vegetarian dishes do), I was thrilled with  how much produce it used up.  It also used the last of our basil plant (poor guy is now on the back patio with 2 leaves on the single stem).  It turned out quite yummy and my only regret was I didn’t think to buy a nice loaf of bread to go along side the dish (and maybe chop up a cucumber salad too).  I also forgot to get a “vegetables after” picture with everything fitting in my 4 qt pot, and all my bowl pictures turned out blurry.  Since we ate this by itself we only got 4 servings, not 6.

vegetables before

Summer Vegetable Stew from Gourmet August 1993 via Epicurious

As you might notice comparing the ingredient list to my picture, I used more yellow squash and less zucchini since that was what I had on hand.  The final dish wasn’t quite as colorful but still tasty.  That zucchini gave me about 1/2 cups diced, while the squash gave me about 2 1/2 cups diced.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

