Anotheryarn Eats

September 24, 2009

nicoise salad?

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , , , — anotheryarn @ 2:01 pm

A while ago I saw this beautiful salad nicoise on Mixed Greens (or is it Eating Locally in the Pacific Northwest, I’m a bit confused on the title of the blog).  I’ve been meaning to make it for a while but kept being out of one or another ingredient.  Friday night it came together minus any sort of leafy greens.  But I made way too much, it turned out very tasty and turned into a decent lunch despite the chilled tomatoes.

nicoiseNicoise Salad of Sorts

  • 8 potatoes
  • two handfuls of green beans
  • 1 tomato
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 6 oz can oil-packed tuna
  • handful nicoise olives
  • lemon vinaigrette (1/4 of a recipe made enough)

First I hard boiled the eggs.  I recently read about a method where you cover the eggs in cold water, bring it to a boil, and once it is boiling turn the heat off and let the pan sit on the burner for 10 minutes, then you pour off the hot water and rinse in cold water to cool them off for peeling.  I’ve made great, perfectly cooked eggs since learning about this method. While the eggs were cooking I started on the rest of the prep.  I quartered the potatoes (and just happened to only have purple potatoes in the house) and steamed them until fork tender (10+ minutes), then I removed them from the steamer basket and added my green beans (de-stemmed of course, and cut in half) and steamed those for 5 minutes.  I sliced the tomato into nice, large, bite-sized chunks, I made the dressing, and drained the tuna.  Then I assembled everything on two plates, composed salad style (I think this is composed salad style) and drizzled the dressing over it.  We ended up sharing one plate and dumping the other plate into a bowl, turning it into a tossed salad that we ate for lunch the next day.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

