Anotheryarn Eats

September 21, 2009

pickle crazy

Filed under: food preservation — Tags: , , , , — anotheryarn @ 5:02 pm

I’ve been going pickle crazy. After making 3 quarts of refrigerator dills, I had the urge to make dilly beans (aka pickled, dilled green beans) but instead I talked my parents into turning their last row of green beans into jars of pickles instead of plain pressure-cooker canned green beans. Our neighbors gave us a couple pounds of small plums from their tree and I had the urge to try making pickled plums, but TheHusband ate too many before I got the gumption to try it. Then I went and made a batch of quick pickled radishes (so good, and now I’ve lost the recipe), and followed that with pickled kohlrabi (meh, might have been the woody kohlrabi or the wrong brine). Next up, carrots. But instead of making pickled carrots I had a saner moment (thank you Marissa, yet again) when I found Food In Jars (if I’m remembering names correctly, by the same person who brought me our favorite beet salad combo) and just cut up the carrots and dumped them in the first empty jar of pickle brine.  Then I got the bright idea to turn my two bunches of beets into spiced pickled beets. Hey I have the canning jars and a recipe, why not? It saved me from being completely overwhelmed with the csa shares (cooking only 7 meals over the course of 20 days has a way of making that produce pile up).

carrot pickles

Quick carrot pickles (refrigerator) – in leftover pickle brine, let them sit for a week in the fridge before eating.  They turned out quite delicious, and kept a wonderful crunch.  Now they are nearly gone with another bunch of carrots destined for a new jar (but I need to make some new brine, I think I’ll try Smitten Kitchen’s version).  You also see the radish and beet pickle things that I didn’t get around to until the next day.

radish pickles

Radish pickles made with rice vinegar, sugar and ginger root.  Straight to the fridge with this batch too, but they were better eaten within a couple hours.  It took two jars to hold my regular size bunch of ginormous radishes (plus a few regular sized radishes from an earlier bunch).  These turned bleh after a weekend in the fridge, but another week has turned them into something somewhat edible.  No more long-term storage radish pickles for me.

spiced beets

Spiced Beet Pickles.  This is a sweet pickle brine with cloves and cinnamon for spice.  I had the required 2 pounds of beets, but had to make a 2nd half-batch of the brine when I was filling my jars and ran out after jar #3.  Doh – I’m not sure if it wasn’t enough brine (the recipe called for 4 pint jars) or if my 2 pounds didn’t quite fill the jars the way the recipe assumed they would.  This was also my third canning attempt and I got a little brave, I added some dried, cracked ginger to two of the jars (and then used gold bands to distinguish between them).  I actually sealed the jars via water-bath to make them shelf-stable until we open them.  I haven’t tried any of these yet, but have high hopes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

