Anotheryarn Eats

September 1, 2009

and more baking

Filed under: Breakfast, Recipes, Recipes by me — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 10:58 pm

I baked both the blueberry-apple muffins and zucchini basil muffins today Wednesday.  Then I accidentally ate 6 of the mini zucchini basil muffins (I ate the smaller, slightly burnt ones, and the two that were mauled by my efforts to remove them from the muffin tin, and they are good – I stopped once I realized how many I had eaten).  Score 1 for me 🙂  I made two things on my meal planning list.

IMG_1370

Zucchini Basil Mini-Muffins

I actually started with the blueberry-apple muffins though, and when they were in the oven I tackled the zucchini basil muffins.  I have a kitchen sink muffin recipe, it started as the Better Homes & Gardens New Cook Book [basic] muffins and I’ve morphed it several times (bit of leftover spelt flour, toss it in; extra fruit hanging around, in it goes; and so on).IMG_1346 For the most part these muffins turn out pretty good with the exception of the time that I experimented with agave syrup instead of sugar – those were just so-so muffins.  Today blueberries, apple, vanilla yogurt and slivered almonds were on my “use-up” list.  I’ve also been trying to slip a bit of whole wheat flour in here and there (last weekend it was in pancakes, and now muffins).  Either the 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour is actually adding some good flavor or I’m just getting lucky.

IMG_1348

Blueberry & Apple Muffins

  • 1 1/4 c flour
  • 1/2 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 c vanilla yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c oil
  • 1/3 c blueberries (that was all I had)
  • 1 small apple, peeled and diced
  • 1/8 c slivered almonds, finely chopped

bake at 400 until… um golden brown, probably 15 to 20 minutes (today I forgot to set the timer, then set it for 10 minutes, then decided they need a few more minutes but forgot the timer and took them out just in the nick of time, but unknown time) – do the toothpick test.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

