Anotheryarn Eats

August 25, 2009

Enchiladas with side dishes

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 11:21 am

I made a meal with three components!  Luckily it only took two pans and the food processor.  Sadly the dishwasher was half-full of dirty dishes and not everything fit last night so I have round two waiting for me.  I was very torn yesterday on what to make, there is an eggplant torte that sounds very promising, and I’d feel like less of a failure at cooking if I managed to use up veggies the week we got them; but I forgot to read ahead and didn’t feel like letting the eggplant sit for one hour when it was already after 6 (plus I’d have to go to the store for tomatoes).  The other option, the one I should have just done in the first place, was green bean enchiladas.  I had to toss a few green beans, and was one tortilla short of the dozen that fills my 9×13 pyrex casserole dish but I was able to cross a couple veggies off our list.  As I got started on the enchiladas, I decided I really wanted to make some spanish rice to go with it, a quick call to my aunt for her recipe (since, last year’s Bittman recipe was just so-so) and finally we made this carrot-beet salad that I’ve been eyeing ever since I scored the Everyday Food: Great Food Fast cookbook at a used bookstore.

IMG_1324

My version of Ruth’s Spanish Rice

My version actually came out a bit mushy, I’m not sure if it is because I used basmati rice, because I used 2 cups of stock instead of 1 can (which IIRC is less than 2 cups), or because my kitchen timer shut off somewhere between 4 minutes and 0 minutes and I overcooked the rice.  However the flavor was great.  And honestly mushy rice is better than crunchy rice.  Next time I make this I’m going to aim for 1 1/2 to 2 cups of total liquid and see how that goes.

  • 1 c [white] rice
  • oil
  • green onions (1/3 cup, opt.)
  • cumin (about 1/2 teaspoon)
  • garlic powder (a sprinkle)
  • salt (a pinch)
  • 1 -8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 2 cups vegetable stock

Brown the rice in the oil.  When it is about done add a few chopped green onions.  Add the cumin, garlic powder and salt, stir.  Add the tomato sauce and stock.  Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

Green Bean Enchiladas

A quick recap:  Prep green beans, keeping them as long as possible but not longer than the tortillas.  Prep pan by pouring in a bit of enchilada sauce.  Grate cheese (6 oz is nice but not overly cheesy).  Set up corn tortillas, green beans, skillet and casserole dish in a row (with skillet on a burner) and heat the skillet to just below medium.  Heat the tortilla gently so it is just pliable but not gaining color.  Use a clean kitchen towel to protect your hand holding the tortilla as you roll.  Fill with a few green beans (4 to 6 is nice), roll, place in casserole dish.  Repeat until casserole is full, top with remaining sauce and cheese.  Bake for 30 minutes until bubbly and melty and green beans are soft.

Carrot Beet Salad from Everyday Food: Great Food Fast

I didn’t have a pound of beets, and my CSA carrots probably aren’t the same size as the carrots they thought of when writing the recipe so I used as many red beets as I had (4 medium beets weighed in at 11 oz), and the same number of small-medium carrots.  But I made the dressing as directed since a little too much dressing is better than not enough for a slaw-like salad.

  • 1/4 c lemon juice (or the juice of one and a half lemons plus orange juice to make up the difference)
  • 1 T extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 T (or less if you used OJ) honey
  • 3/4 t cumin
  • 1/2 t ground coriander
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/8 to 1/4 t cayenne (we used not quite 1/4 t)
  • pinch salt

Whisk dressing ingredients together in the bowl that will hold your grated beets and carrots.

  • 4 beets, raw, ends cut off and peeled (a veggie peeler works nicely but beware the splatters)
  • 4 small-medium carrots, ends cut off, scrubbed or peeled

Shred/Grate the beets and carrots, I highly recommend a food processor for speed and splatter containment.  Toss the beets and carrots together in the bowl with the dressing.

IMG_1326

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

