Anotheryarn Eats

August 25, 2009

Baking

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 9:48 am

I really love to bake, but don’t do it as often as I get the urge.  Too often a messy kitchen, or lately, the heat keep me from it (also, not having enough outlets for sharing baked goods).  Sunday morning I made blueberry oat scones for breakfast. We have to get our blueberries from the FM, but I hear that some CSA subscribers are lucky to have farms that grow blueberries too.  These were delicious, half a recipe gave me 8 generous sized scones.  I ate the final two for breakfast this morning, and the brown sugar just adds a delightful taste.  Or maybe it is the oatmeal, anyway they were lovely, though I thought the texture verged on muffin texture.  I’m totally looking forward to making these this winter with blueberries straight from the freezer.  Oh yes, I used milk instead of half-and-half.

IMG_1292

Blueberry Oat Scones from Bon Appetit via Epicurious (recipe from Molly of Orangette)

The ingredients halved (unless you too, want to do your math teachers proud and figure it out yourself)

  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 1/6 c brown sugar (this is 2 tablespoons plus a 2 teaspoons)
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 3/4 t baking soda
  • 3/8 t kosher salt (oh just eyeball that one)
  • 5 1/2 T butter
  • 1/2 c blueberries
  • 1/2 c rolled oats
  • 7/8 c milk
  • a couple teaspoons of coarse sugar and a couple tablespoons of oatmeal to sprinkle on top

Full directions at the Epicurious site.  Basically, in a food processor pulse the dry ingredients, add the butter, pulse till sandy, dump in a bowl, stir in blueberries and oatmeal.  Stir in milk.  Drop in very large spoonfuls (I eyeballed what I thought would be a 1/2 cup mound) on a parchment lined baking sheet far apart because they spread and bake for like 27 minutes at 350 F.  (Check half-way of course).

IMG_1295

While the scones were in the oven I realized it would be the perfect time to make that zucchini bread I’ve been meaning to make.  So I dried off the food processor and quickly grated my large zucchini into about 2 cups of shredded zucchini.  I just made one loaf though, it came together so quickly and I swear is the most perfectly rounded loaf of quick bread that I have ever made. I saved the second cup of shredded zucchini for zucchini-basil muffins later this week. It did brown a little more than I wanted it to, but still tastes fabulous.  Was it the fine grating of the food processor that made the green specs almost disappear?  Was it the teaspoon of cinnamon that overshadowed the lemony flavor of zucchini bread that I love?  Where is the recipe my mom used?  And why does my quick bread keep sticking to the pan despite oiling it?

Zucchini Bread from that red checked BH&G The New Cook Book (again)

  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1 cup grated zucchini
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 oil
  • 1/4 t lemon zest

Mix the dry ingredients (flour to nutmeg) in a small bowl.  Mix the wet ingredients (zucchini to lemon zest) in a medium bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir until just combined.  Pour into a greased loaf pan (preferably an 8x4x2 sized pan) and bake for 55 to 60 minutes at 350 F until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Let it cool in the pan for 10 minutes then let it cool completely before cutting.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

