Anotheryarn Eats

August 24, 2009

sesame noodles

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , , , — anotheryarn @ 1:10 pm

Whenever I read about sesame noodles I read about how common they are as chinese take-out.  I must have been ordering chinese take-out from the wrong sorts of take-out places all my life, because I swear I’ve never seen sesame noodles on the menu (maybe it is an east coast or NYC thing?).  At first I had plans for peanut noodles, but then this recipe jumped out at me from my growing delicious list as I was researching pickle recipes yet again (why oh why can’t I find my notes from last year’s pickle making venture?).  Pickles and sesame noodles you ask?  They both share the cucumber tag.

I opted to use tahini as an experiment (the recipe states either can be used), but I suspect my toasted sesame oil is not the same thing as dark sesame oil.  Something probably went wrong, because as you can see, the sauce came out a little grainy.  Texturally it was unnoticeable in my mouth.  I skipped the chicken because we don’t cook meat that often and didn’t have any in the house.  I added red bell pepper because we had a beautiful pepper from the Farmer’s Market, carrots and green onions because we had them (also based on the fact that we normally put all three in our peanut sauced noodles).

sesame noodlesCold Noodles with Sesame Sauce, Chicken and Cucumbers from Mark Bittman’s Bitten Blog

My version is: 6 oz noodles, 1/2 recipe of the sauce, 2 small cucumbers, 1/4 red pepper, a few carrots thinly sliced and green onion thinly sliced.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

