Anotheryarn Eats

August 24, 2009

Mostly Fresh Salsa

Filed under: Recipes by me — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 11:22 pm

Last Saturday at the Farmer’s Market (as we charged through, getting there about 15 minutes before it closed) I grabbed a few tomatoes (only 3, I had restraint).  I had one big, pinky heirloom looking tomato that I knew I’d use for fresh salsa.  And then for some reason it sat all week, first I had to deal with pickles, then we had busy nights and lo and behold a week went by.  Luckily that tomato still looked pretty good, the serrano chile however had seen betters days.  So we stuck the serrano under the broiler to roast it and went about making salsa.  We’d needed just a little bit more something, so we made a couple quesadillas too.

IMG_1291

Fresh Salsa

I tried in the past to measure my ingredients, but for some dishes I just don’t work that way.  This is one of those dishes, you make it based on a vague sense of proportions, and when in doubt add half, stir, see how it looks/tastes and add more if needed.  I prefer to use a regular white or yellow onion in my salsa, but had way too many green onions hanging out in the fridge to ignore.

  • 1 very big tomato
  • handful of green onions OR 1/2 onion
  • handful of cilantro
  • 1 serrano (maybe two, if you want it hotter, or perhaps the roasting dulled the heat)
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 lime, juiced

Dice your tomato, if it is extra juicy you might consider eliminating some of the juice and seeds, if it is meaty don’t worry about it.  Dice your onion, dice your chile (WEAR GLOVES!), dice your cilantro, sprinkle salt over everything and add the lime juice.  I think I ended up with about 4 cups of salsa.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

