Anotheryarn Eats

July 27, 2009

I cooked

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 12:58 am

IMG_1085To end my non-cooking week I actually cooked two meals.  We started the day with a spinach-jack cheese omelet.  It is still a little more brown than I’d like, but still tasted quite good.  And omelets are so nice and quick.  Not that we did anything on Saturday, which was a good thing after our fairly busy week where one of us wasn’t home Wednesday, Thursday and Friday night. I also prepped the chard in anticipation of cooking it, but I didn’t.

Instead we made Smitten Kitchen’s Arugula, Potato and Green Bean Salad.  And I’d be happy to eat this for the rest of the summer.  It was a bit dish-intensive, but came together surprisingly quickly and the dressing was surprisingly good.  I started scarfing it down once it was plated, completely forgetting to toast and add the nuts.  In a way it was good that I forgot, it made me stop shoving this salad in my mouth while I waited for the nuts and I got to try it both ways.  I think I actually prefer the salad without walnuts.  It might look prettier with the walnuts but I didn’t think they added that much to the overall dish.  Of course I’m also not crazy about walnuts (you will often find sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, pine nuts and almonds in my pantry, occasionally pecans but rarely walnuts).  Half a recipe made a perfect dinner for 2 (yes all we ate was this salad).

IMG_1086

Arugula, Potato and Green Bean Salad from Smitten Kitchen

You might be tempted to increase the amount of green beans, but it isn’t necessary.  You might think the dressing sounds a little bland, but it is perfect.  You might not have fingerling potatoes and substitute creamers instead, they work but make for large bites.  You might decide to not buy a $7.50 bottle of walnut oil for 1 tablespoon and it won’t affect the dressing results too sorely (I sure didn’t miss it).  You might forget to toast the walnuts but I bet you will still like the salad.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

