Anotheryarn Eats

July 20, 2009

Zucchini Pizza

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , — anotheryarn @ 10:10 pm

We were discussing our dinner options while we were driving home from our Sunday hike – we had swiss chard, zucchini and kohlrabi left in the fridge.  At some point over the weekend I made plans to make a swiss chard frittata/quiche/trouchia since it would make great leftovers, but the mild heat wave had decided to continue and there was no way I would turn the oven on.  Then I remembered Smitten Kitchen’s recent Zucchini Pizza recipe so we decided to stop by TJs for pizza dough and goat cheese.  What about the oven?  We decided to grill the pizza instead.  I couldn’t remember if there were other items I needed, but figured I’d wing it from there.  Luckily for me I had lemons in the fridge and the recipe was really that simple.

We’ve had mixed results with grilling pizza in the past, but when it is good, oh it is good.  I’m not yet confident enough in our grilling method to give step-by-step instructions, I’m sure you can find a number of instructions all over the web though.  The first recipe we ever tried was Everyday Food’s Grilled Asparagus pizza (bookmark this for next spring).  The first time was a success, the second time was not.  But I think we shall grill pizza a few more times this summer, possibly even this week since the heat isn’t supposed to let up for a while.  Perhaps if we manage to grill pizza successfully a few times in a row I’ll post on it.  However – this is not the recipe to try grilled.  The generally grill-ness and occasional char that is grilled pizza did not let the delicate lemon, zucchini and basil notes shine through.  I think grilled pizza might need more assertive flavors.

But, I so want to make this again – the trick will be a day when zucchini is still plentiful but its not too hot to turn on the oven.  It was delicious (and TheHusband reports that it was good cold too) and pretty easy.  I used 2 small zucchini, a 4.5 oz log of goat cheese, about 10-12 ounces of pizza dough (I think, I used about 2/3 the package of TJ pizza dough – mostly because I was aiming for a round of dough that would fit nicely on our grill.  In the end we had to turn the oven on for a few minutes.  The grill didn’t seem to give quite enough heat to the top and so we stuck the pizzas under the broiler for about 90 seconds.

IMG_1064

Lemony Zucchini Goat Cheese Pizza from Smitten Kitchen

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

