Anotheryarn Eats

July 20, 2009

Just slaw

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 11:43 pm

Attention: Yet another thing to do with Kohlrabi!

It is another hot day and another day where the chard lingering in my fridge is not calling to me.  But I had two kohlrabi’s waiting to be used and I thought of slaw, specifically some broccoli slaw I tried a couple months ago, and how kohlrabi is kind of like the nice soft part of broccoli stems (once you peel away the tough skin).  Then while reading my food blogs this morning I came across this recipe for turnip and kohlrabi slaw, which was perfect ignoring that I don’t have turnips or turnip greens.  But the dressing, I’m really more of a ginger fiend than garlic fiend, the dressing is what sold it.  So, I have some radishes, radishes are similar to turnips, but I decided against subbing the chard for turnip greens since my chard is on the more mature side (also the raw chard ribbons in that beet salad a couple weeks ago were not that appealing).  And that’s it.  Luckily I’m not above picking up a few carrots at the grocery store.  We just had this with rice, which wasn’t really the best accompaniment, but it bulked out the meal and didn’t heat up the house too much.  I think next time I’ll try it with peanut noodles, I do like the combination of asian-inspired slaw and peanut noodles.  Also, note the green onions – because sometimes (like now) you just gotta throw them in anywhere they might possibly work.

IMG_1068

Kohlrabi Slaw with Ginger Dressing from Food & Wine via The Bitten Word

note: I’m actually writing the dressing recipe out how I plan on making it next time, namely halving the dressing and preparing it in the same bowl as the slaw to save a dish

  • 1/8 c rice vinegar
  • 2 1/4 t sugar (or just round down to 2 rounded teaspoons)
  • 1/2 T fresh, grated ginger
  • pinch salt
  • freshly grated pepper
  • 1/8 c mild oil
  • 2 kohlrabi, peeled
  • 2 carrots, peeled
  • handful radishes
  • 2 green onions

In a medium bowl whisk together the rice vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper.  Add in the ginger and then whisk in the oil.

Prepare the slaw.  I used the large grating blade on my food processor – the veggies came out a great size.  Cut the kohlrabi and carrots (tip: let them sit flat instead of stand up) to fit through the food processor neck.  Grate the kohlrabi, carrot and radish one right after another.  Whisk the dressing again and dump the slaw into the bowl, toss to combine.  Thinly slice the green onion and add that, toss again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

