Anotheryarn Eats

July 17, 2009

Grains, Greens, and Protein

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 12:05 am

At some point I was reading that you can eat kohlrabi leaves and they are similiar to collards.  I’ve never tried collards (or did I last year, if I did it was unmemorable) but had a huge bunch of kohlrabi leaves from our two kohlrabi bulbs last week.  Originally I thought it would be nice to do a braised green, some sort of bean dish and cornbread, but while I was looking for a vegetarian braised collard recipe I came upon this recipe for quinoa, steamed greens and sweet-spicy tofu on Vegan Yum Yum (is this in my reader? must check and remedy that) and was completely sold.  And it is so true, grains, greens and some protein make a delicious and generally easy dinner.  The dry-fry method for tofu was interesting, but I feared our cast iron wasn’t quite seasoned enough for it so I used our non-stick (windows open and vent on).  It took 3 batches in our 10″ skillet, and the first two were fun, but the third was annoying, I just set the cooked tofu aside in a dish and then tossed everything together again in the pan with the sauce.  And the sauce.  Oh the sauce was good.  TheHusband kept going back to the pan to grab another piece (silly him, only grabbing like 6 triangles for his dinner) and mmmm.  I also really liked adding the cardamom and cinnamon to the quinoa; but I will not be “wok steaming” kohlrabi leaves anymore.  Which is a shame because that is a lot of leaf to just toss.

IMG_0980

Sweet Chili Lime Tofu with Greens and Quinoa

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

