Anotheryarn Eats

July 12, 2009

spinach ricotta omelet

Filed under: Recipes by me — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 1:06 pm

I finally figured out what to do with my tiny bunch of spinach.  It made the perfect amount to fill one omelet which made a great brunch for two.  Also, did you know you can spell omelet or omelette?  Of course now both look wrong to me.

This past week has really been a cooking by the seat of my pants sort of week (when I’ve cooked at all).  It is kind of nice for a change.  At 11:30 am [Sunday] we encountered the “I’m getting hungry what’s for breakfast?” of our lazy weekend mornings.  I had sort of been tossing around the idea of pairing some ricotta cheese with my garlic scape pesto and eggs for a while but hadn’t gotten around to it – I rarely crave eggs.  I wasn’t craving eggs this morning, but an omelet sounded pretty good.  Digging in the fridge I realized that the spinach and green onions would make a great addition.  And they did, plus it turns out that I had practically the perfect amount of spinach.  I remembered to do all my prep ahead of time and it went together nicely, even though I can’t remember the last time I made an omelet I managed to not turn it into scrambled eggs.  If you have never made an omelet I’d suggest consulting a cookbook instead of my instructions, there are no amazing omelet secrets in this post.

IMG_0973

Omelet filled with spinach, ricotta and garlic scape pesto

  • 1 small bunch spinach (probably around 16 full-sized leaves)
  • 1-2 green onions
  • butter and/or olive oil

Clean and rinse your spinach, shake the water off but don’t worry about leaving it a little wet.  Remove the tough stems, make a nice pile and cut into thin ribbons.  I like to cut it in half vertically and then stack the two piles and do 1/2″ ribbons from that.  Thinly slice your green onions, set some of the green tops aside.  Heat a 10″ skillet and add enough butter or olive oil (2 teaspoons or so) to just coat the bottom, let it get hot and add the green onions.  Toss the spinach ribbons on top of that and cover for a minute.  Uncover and stir, if it has reduced dramatically in volume and is bright green go ahead and remove it from the heat – I just put it back on the cutting board I originally used to chop the spinach.  Using your silicon spatula sort of scrape any bits out of the pan.  Return it to the burner (turn off the heat if you aren’t quite ready to add the eggs at this point)

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 T water
  • butter
  • ricotta cheese
  • garlic scape pesto
  • finely grated parmesan cheese
  • remaining green onion tops

Crack open the eggs into a smallish bowl (but enough room to beat three eggs), add the water and beat till nice and fluffy (it would probably be a good time for seasoning with salt and pepper, but I forgot) add a spoonful of garlic scape pesto and whisk to incorporate.  Using the same 10″ pan, heat it over medium heat and add a chunk of butter (I’m guessing a tablespoon).  Twirl the melting, foamy butter around to coat the pan and as soon as it is all melty and foaming add the eggs to the pan.  Let it coat the bottom of the pan, and gently pull up edges with your spatula and tilt the pan so the liquid egg can flow under the cooked bits – not too much or you just get scrambled eggs.  Cover the pan and turn down the heat.  Check in a minute or so.  When the egg is all set dallop the ricotta on one half of the egg, a bit more pesto and then add the cooked spinach on top.  Sprinkle a little bit of parmesan on it and gently fold the other half of the egg on top.  I like to sprinkle more parmesan and the reserved green onions on top of the folded omelet.  And serve, with toast if desired.

IMG_0974

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

