Anotheryarn Eats

July 7, 2009

Soup and bread

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 3:29 pm

hmmm, it seems I never posted this, when I made this back at the beginning of May.  Oops.  I was probably waiting on myself to pull the pictures from camera to computer to intertubes… or dragging the cookbook upstairs to finish up the recipe which I no doubt starting typing from memory.  Well, forget the picture, here it is.  IIRC we really enjoyed this soup and I definitely will make it again.  Wonder if it will work with kale as the green veggie of choice?

Our last CSA pick-up was, oh 6 months ago, and despite me claiming to be finished with all those veggies, I realized that I had some squash lurking in the garage (unheated and therefore our dark and cool storage spot), then forget and then remember and forgot and remembered.  Well, yesterday I grabbed the two delicata squashes and decided to make soup – but I didn’t.  Luckily for me, I didn’t have to think about dinner at all today because my decisions were all ready made – gypsy soup and beer bread (so easy and quick, I use whatever beer we have on hand, even stuff we didn’t like drinking and only 2 T of butter).  For many years I passed by the recipe for gypsy soup, I’m not sure why, but last fall it caught my eye and I kept meaning to make it.  At first glance, it would seem I did not have the right ingredients, but I trusted the intro that I really could swap any pair almost any orange veggie with any green veggie instead of the sweet potato and green bell pepper it called for.wi

Gypsy Soup adapted from The Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen

  • 1 med. delicata squash, peeled, seeded and diced (2 cups)*
  • 1 1/2 onions, diced
  • 1/4-1/2 t celery seed*
  • 3 garlic cloves, smooshed
  • 2 t paprika
  • 1 t basil
  • 1 pinch saffron*
  • 1 dash cinnamon
  • 1 dash cayenne
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 14 oz can diced tomatoes*
  • 1 19 oz can garbonzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • big handful frozen green beans, broken into bite size pieces*
  • 1 cup water mixed with 1 teaspoon bouillon

*my substitutions for the sweet potato, celery stick, tumeric, fresh diced tomatoes and green pepper respectively

So, to make soup with that list of ingredients above… I probably sauteed the onion and celery seed together. Once ithe onion got tender adding the garlic till fragrant and then the rest of the spices. And then dumped everything else in the pot (boiling that one cup of water separate and dissolving the bouillon in it before adding it to the pot) and let it all simmer until the squash was tender.  Which I think was more than 10 minutes and less than 30.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

