Anotheryarn Eats

April 10, 2009

Perhaps for Easter Brunch

Filed under: Breakfast, Recipes — Tags: , , , , , — anotheryarn @ 4:40 pm

Not that I will be having easter brunch, since moving away from extended family I feel a bit aimless on Easter day. This year I think we have plans to go skiing if the snow will be decent. But this is exactly the sort of dish I think would be good for a fancy breakfast or brunch. I hope to make it next year on christmas day.

I made this strata a month or so ago, for dinner. I modified the recipe a little bit, but it turns out I didn’t write down precise modifications. I know I halved the recipe, added 4 oz of chopped chanterelles (actually frozen and thawed), probably didn’t use as much heavy cream if I used it at all, and probably was a bit loosey goosey with the cheeses (I think we had another swiss instead of gruyere and some unidentified cheese that I mistook for parmesan). The picture you see below is a piece I reheated in the toaster oven for lunch. I was a little heavy handed with the cheese.

strata

Leek and Gruyere Strata from cooking.com (found via a local grocery store sample day)

  • 1-3 t butter (guestimate)
  • 2 leeks
  • 4 oz chanterelles, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2-3 T white wine
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 c heavy cream
  • 2 c milk
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • pinch cayenne
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 1 c gruyere
  • 1/2 c parmesan
  • 1/2 loaf bread, cubed (day old preferred)

Slice your leeks into 1/2″ rounds (and clean of course), crush the garlic. Heat a 10″ saute pan and saute the leeks in some butter until soft, add the mushrooms and when they are soft add the garlic. Once it is fragrant add the white wine and cook until the liquid is reduced in half. Set aside. In a bowl whisk together the eggs, cream (if using, otherwise just replace with milk), nutmeg, cayenne, pepper and a pinch of salt. In a large bowl toss together the cubed bread and the leek mixture. Grease a 2 qt baking dish (I used more butter). Pour the bread-leek mixture in the pan and pour the egg mixture over it. Let it sit for 20 minutes or so (next time I’m going to try overnight) to let the bread absorb some of the egg mixture. Cover with foil and bake at 325 F for 20-30 minutes, then remove the foil and bake another 15-20 minutes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

