Anotheryarn Eats

November 5, 2008

October 31: vegetable lo mein

Filed under: Recipes, Recipes by me — Tags: , , , , , , — anotheryarn @ 1:55 pm

I was totally craving chinese food on Friday night, and since I was already planning on making egg rolls to freeze I decided to make vegetable lo mein.  I found two recipes and went with the easier, I have all the ingredients on hand, recipe.  Next time I’ll try the other version since I thought this was a little sweet (considering the source and ingredients I shouldn’t be too surprised).  It also didn’t exactly fit the bill for what I remember vegetable lo mein to taste like (of course I don’t think I’ve eaten that in several years so my taste buds might be off too).  The sauce was just a little too sweet but overall it was darn tasty – I like all of my additions since both recipes were skimpy on the vegetables.

I used the sauce from Rachel Ray’s Everything Lo Mein recipe in Express Lane Meals, grabbed all the veggies that looked good from my fridge and used whole wheat spaghetti noodles.

lomein

Sauce

  • 3 T hoisin sauce
  • 3 T soy sauce
  • 2 T hot sauce (I used sriracha)

Veggies

  • 4-6 oz fresh shitakes, stems removed and thinly sliced
  • 1 bunch broccoli, cut into small florets, and stems peeled and chopped into matchsticks
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped into short fat matchsticks
  • several carrot coarsely grated (I think I had about 1 cup)
  • 1-2 c mung bean sprouts
  • 4-5 green onions, chopped into 2″ lengths and then quartered vertically

Other

  • 4 cloves garlic, smooshed
  • 2-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated
  • oil
  • 4-5 oz whole wheat spaghetti, broken in half and boiled until 1-2 minutes from done

While I boiled the noodles I did all of my prep: mixing the sauce, chopping or grating the veggies, ginger and garlic.  Then I heated oil (a tablespoon or so) in my big 12″ skillet and starting stir-frying the veggies.  Start cooking the shitakes then when they are softening add the broccoli and finally adding the bell pepper, carrot and bean sprouts and green onion.  When it was all cooked till crunchy-tender I pushed it to the perimeter of the pan and added a teaspoon of oil to the center and added the garlic and ginger and stirred it until fragrant.  Then I stirred everything together, added the noodles and poured about half the sauce over everything.  More stirring, tasting and adding enough sauce so everything is coated and serve.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

