Anotheryarn Eats

November 2, 2008

October 24: Green Coconut Curry

Filed under: almost a recipe — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 3:24 pm

Coconut Curry is one of our favorite quick, nearly brainless meals.  I’ve even made it with a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies in a pinch.  Since I still didn’t have everything for the lasagna (Monday I swear), I decided coconut curry would do a good job of using up lots of veggies and it did — I actually had to open a second can of coconut milk to make more curry sauce.  But the fridge is still quite a disaster, we had to leave an empty carrot of milk in it just to have a place to prop the plate with the leek tart/quiche (it is glass so hard to see but it is sitting on top the milk carton).  The three large plastic boxes are filled with apples – so is the left produce drawer.  Our fridge is sort of comical, but I am happy to say that we are slowly using up everything and not tossing too much (hooray for the freezer; I froze a few remaining servings of this curry).

I chose to use green curry for no other reason than I figured it would pair slightly better with the copious amounts of broccoli, I keep both green and red curry paste in my fridge (and at least one can of coconut milk in the pantry).  I simply use the basic recipe on the back of the bottle, substituting water for broth and using half the amount of fish sauce, since I suspect our asian grocery store brand is a bit stronger than the Thai Kitchen brand they think I’m going to use (or maybe we are fish sauce wusses, we are curry wusses and only use about half the recommended amount of paste too).  I like to press the tofu so it absorbs a bit more curry flavor.

Coconut Green Curry – from the recipe on the bottle of curry)

  • green curry paste
  • coconut milk
  • fish sauce
  • brown sugar
  • water
  • broccoli
  • carrots
  • red bell pepper
  • orange bell pepper
  • tofu, pressed and cubed

You start by putting a pot of rice on to cook, when we make one batch of curry 1 to 1 1/2 cups of rice works nicely (and we get 3-4 servings from one batch of curry).  Then in a nice size sauce pan you whisk together the coconut milk, the curry paste and let it simmer for a few minutes, then add the brown sugar, fish sauce and some water (instead of broth – use broth if you have it handy).  Finally you add the various veggies and tofu (or meat) to the sauce and let it simmer until everything is cooked.  I like to add the tofu first, then the veggies that take longer to cook (like carrot) then the quicker cooking veggies last (like bell pepper and broccoli since it is better undercooked than overcooked).

I didn’t put amounts in this at all – like I said the recipe is on the bottle of curry paste and it is really a to-taste sort of thing.  The amount of veggies I add varies based on what is in the fridge.  If you have cilantro or basil that is also a great addition.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

