Anotheryarn Eats

October 22, 2008

October 19: Pasta with almost peanut sauce

Filed under: almost a recipe, Recipes — Tags: , , , , — anotheryarn @ 3:30 pm

I’m noticing a trend:  Pasta + veggies and yet another I don’t really feel like cooking but we have all this glorious beautiful produce that is going to be gone gone gone before you know it meal.  I grabbed the orange bell pepper, and the red bell pepper (from the Farmer’s Market, I couldn’t resist), some carrots and the red onion from the fridge.  Then I thought peanut-sauce, oh wait, I didn’t make it last time I thought of it due to not having enough peanut butter, oh well I’ll use some tahini too.  And then I couldn’t remember where I saw that recipe for the tahini-rich sesame noodles, so I decided to try out Orangette’s citrus-peanut sauce instead with a little tweak (I ended up using 1/4 cup of tahini and not quite 1/4 cup of peanut butter).  I’m sure the recipe is good, I plan to try it again (though I really should round up all my peanut-sauce recipes and determine the winner) but DO NOT make it with tahini.  I don’t think the tahini was able to stand up to the assertive 1/2 cup of lime juice, while I do think peanut butter would stand up to it very nicely.  At the last minute I also grabbed some never-ending napa cabbage from the fridge too (actually, I’m happy to say that we haven’t received a head of napa cabbage in two weeks, and I have a plan to use up the rest of it this week).

Almost Peanut Noodles

  • 6 oz whole wheat speghetti, boiled until done of course
  • 3 leaves napa cabbage, cut in ribbons
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, cut in slices
  • 1/2 orange bell pepper, cut in slices
  • 4 small carrots, cut in matchsticks
  • 2 thinly sliced rounds of red onion, cut into quarters
  • Orangette’s Citrus-Peanut Sauce, err Peanut-Citrus Sauce
In a big bowl whisk together the sauce, then add the veggies and the pasta, toss to coat everything.  This made three generous servings.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

