Anotheryarn Eats

October 5, 2008

September 25 lunch: tomato-chard curry

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 10:52 am

I clipped this recipe from a newspaper article on chickpeas about 6 years ago but only made it a handful of times.  That might change since I am getting chard weekly and discovered it only took me about 30 minutes to make this dish.  It is really simple and practically a pantry meal for me since I try to always have onion and ginger on hand and do keep canned tomatoes, canned chickpeas and rice in the pantry.  I did use a food processor for the onion and ginger, but I’m sure a fine dice would work just as well.  Since I think I made just enough changes to the recipe I will go ahead and post my version here as well as link to the original recipe.

Chard, Tomato and Chickpea Curry (original called Chickpea and Spinach Curry in Cooking Light October 2002)

  • 1 cup rice (I try to use basmati when I made indian inspired dishes)
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 T freshly grated ginger
  • 2 t oil
  • 1 1/2 t sugar
  • 1 t hot curry powder (I used Penzeys)
  • 1/2 t garam masala*
  • 1 bunch chard
  • 19 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 14 oz can diced tomatoes (petite dice are nice if you find them)

* The recipe called for 1 1/2 teaspoons of red curry powder, I had hot curry powder and so decided a mix of the hot curry powder and garam masala would get me closer to my desired spice level.

Put the rice on to cook first, if you are making white rice it will be done around the time the curry is ready.

Throw the chard in some water to soak/wash and give the onion and ginger a whirl in the food processor (or just dice them together for a bit).  Heat a large skillet (I used my 12″ skillet) with the oil and then add the onion and ginger as well as the sugar, curry and stir occasionally for 3 minutes.  During this time clean the chard and remove the stems.  Shake or blot the excess water away and chop the leaves into roughly 2″ pieces.  To the onion-ginger mixture add the tomatoes and their liquid and the chickpeas.  Let it cook for a couple minutes then add the chard and cover so it will wilt.  After a minute or two stir the chard into the tomato mixture and let it simmer until the chard is cooked to your liking.  I cooked until it was wilty but not totally soft, maybe 5 minutes at most.  Add salt if you desire (the recipe calls for 1/4 teaspoon).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

