Anotheryarn Eats

October 5, 2008

September 24: Borscht

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: — anotheryarn @ 10:51 am

I actually made this soup on Monday, as suggested by my friend Liz and just put it away for lunches through the week.  On Wednesday night I ended up eating alone (and didn’t want a repeat of “mmmmm muffins”) so I heated some soup up for my dinner.  I skipped the suggested hard-boiled egg accompaniment and just went for a couple sliced, steamed potatoes, some sour cream and extra chopped dill.  Before I made beet borscht I hadn’t heard much about it, except and occasional “I hate borscht” type comment.  So I was slightly trepidatious.  On Wednesday night it turns out that I was eating alone so I prettied the soup up for myself.  I skipped the suggested hard-boiled egg accompaniment and just went for a couple sliced, steamed potatoes, some sour cream and extra chopped dill.  It tasted like beets with dill.  I liked the contrast of the sour cream with the dill and I think it might be excellent as a cold soup on a hot summer day but overall I was neither awed nor disgusted.

It wasn’t hard to make since I had roasted the beets on Sunday night, but when I made the soup the beets never got to the point of “melting away” so I attacked it with my immersion blender and created a fairly smooth soup.

Roasted Beet Borscht from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman

  • 2 T oil
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 large white onion, diced
  • 2 1/2 to 3 lbs beets, roasted (about 2 bunches)
  • 5-6 cups water
  • 1 bunch fresh dill
  • fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 4 hard boiled eggs, peeled and quartered (optional)
  • 4 medium red or white new/waxy potatoes, boiled until tender, kept hot for garnish (optional)
  • Sour cream for garnish

In a soup pot (I used a 4 quart pot instead of my slightly bigger soup pot) heat the oil and saute the onions for about 3 minutes on medium-high heat, then turn the heat lower and cook them another 10-15 minutes until golden.  While you are doing this peel and dice the beets.  Once the onions are very soft add the beets and cover with water (I used 5 1/2 cups) and add the dill stems (tie with kitchen twine for easy removal).  Raise the heat to bring the soup to a boil and then let it simmer for about 10 minutes.  Supposedly the beets will start to melt away.  At this point you remove the dill stems and add a bunch of chopped dill leaves to the soup.   This is when I grabbed the immersion blender and blended until it was smooth.  Taste and adjust the salt and pepper and add a bit of lemon juice (it really does help).  Serve it with the garnishes you desire.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

