Anotheryarn Eats

October 5, 2008

October 5: Sesame Carrots, Cabbage and tofu

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 11:37 pm

I am currently overwhelmed with napa cabbage.  By my estimates this dish only used 1/6 of the cabbage in my fridge (about half a small, 12 oz, cabbage) but it did use all the remaining carrots (so much for carrot cupcakes, hopefully Tuesday will bring carrots).  I’m also plotting who I can give some veggies too, of course I always forget that I’m overwhelmed by veggies on pick-up day and am just excited to see what we get this week.  Then I get home, can’t fit half of it in the fridge and get completely overwhelmed by so many veggies and not enough people to eat them.  Hopefully I’ve started early enough this week to be ready (ie nearly empty fridge) for Tuesday.  Not that the fridge is empty, it is just that now I can see the back of it and we worked through several of the cheeses in our cheese bin this weekend.  Oh yes, this dish was rated “I’d eat it again, but probably wouldn’t request it” by TheHusband.

Sesame Carrots on a Bed of Soft Cabbage from Vegetable Heaven by Mollie Katzen

It is recommended that you cook this in two pans so that each portion of the dish finishes around the same time.  For that reason I restructured the ingredient list to reflect the two separate pans.  But my verbal directions will read as you cook.  You also want all the vegetables cut and the various seasonings and condiments at the ready.  Once that stuff is done the recipe is pretty easy (but not her mythic “15 minute prep” easy).

  • 1 t vegetable oil
  • 6 c chopped napa cabbage
  • 3 c quartered and sliced onions (I used 1 onion)
  • 1/2 t salt

—–

  • 2 t chinese sesame oil (I used toasted)
  • 3 cups baby carrots (or you know thick matchstick cut carrots)
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 T rice vinegar
  • 2 T honey
  • 2 t tahini
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
In a large skillet (my 12″ pan worked nicely) heat the vegetable oil on medium-high.  In another large skillet (my 10″ pan) heat the sesame oil on medium.  Add the onions to the vegetable oil pan, Add the carrots to the sesame oil pan.  Set a time for 5 minutes.  Stir occassionally.
Set the timer for 5 minutes and keep cooking the onions (they cook 10 minutes total).  Pour the vinegar over the carrots and cover the pan with a lid.  Stir both pans occasionnally.
Add the cabbage to the onions.  Add the honey, tahini and garlic to the carrots, cover.  Set the time for 5 minutes.  Stir both ocassionally (stir the carrots more since with the honey they are more prone to burning).
Remove the cabbage (it should be nice and soft and wilty) from the heat.  Check the carrots for doneness, they should have a bit of golden color, bits of crispy and soft.  Cook longer if necessary.  Put the cabbage on a serving platter and then put the carrots on top the cabbage (or, ohhh I wish I thought to just use the the 12″ pan for serving).
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

