Anotheryarn Eats

October 5, 2008

October 2: green beans and potatoes

Filed under: almost a recipe, Recipes by me — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 2:47 pm

I started to make a pasta dish, but then as I began I realized I didn’t have enough ingredients to serve 4 (we were expecting guests).  So I turned the oven to 450 F as recommended in The Splendid Table’s How to Eat Supper for those times when you don’t know what to make for supper.  I think the theory is by the time you figure it out the oven is preheated.  And then I grabbed the nearest suspects, the bag of potatoes (growing bigger since I had a gotten potatoes for a couple weeks now), the two bags of greens beans (luckily the prior week’s beans were still bright and crisp looking) and…. well I thought I’d figure it out by the time I got these two veggies cooking.   First, get the pototoes in the oven… ah yes, I can toss the green beans with the pesto I just made (as a recipe states in The Garderers’ Community Cookbook).  Hmm, I should have a third dish of some kind but the boys say they are okay with just two, so two it is.  Thank goodness for low-key guests.

 

Roasted Potatoes

  • as many small potatoes as you want
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • TJ’s 21 seasoning salute, a salt-free blend (or whatever blend of herbs you want)

Cut the potatoes into eights, toss in a big bowl with a glug of oil and sprinkle with salt and herbs.  Toss them on a baking sheet, trying to get the largest cut-side down and spread in a single layer.  Put them in the oven for 20 minutes, then toss them about and put back in the oven for 10 minutes.  Bat away sneaky fingers stealing bites before you serve them.


Green Beans with Parsley Pesto

  • green beans
  • parsley pesto

Wash and trim your green beans.  Put them in a steamer basket and steam them for maybe 3 minutes until bright green and tender but still with some crunch.  Put in a bowl with a spoonful of parsley pesto and toss until all the green beans are covered.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

