Anotheryarn Eats

October 4, 2008

September 22: Trouchia and simple salad

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 7:04 pm

Internet friends can be so awesome sometimes.  If it weren’t for them I would have never known about trouchia and might have dismissed it as yet another quiche-frittatta-like dish, instead I tried this recipe.  And it was delicious.  I think it must have been the fresh herbs, too often I forget to use fresh herbs (gasp!).  Of course I did actually substitute kale for swiss chard, I had two bunches to use up and I find myself subbing one green for another quite a bit around here.  Swiss chard instead of spinach, kale instead of swiss chard…  Since I had a bit more greens than necessary I used all eight eggs, doubled the garlic and threw in a little extra fresh herbs.  The only thing that I don’t understand is how stirring will help the egg-chard mixture set-up, I ended up with a lot of egg stuck to the bottom of my pan.  Luckily I was able to use a silicon spatula and slide it close to the pan without scraping any of the slightly burnt stuff and slide the trouchia onto a serving platter.  

I also had a bunch of salad greens left over from the night before I made a white wine and thyme vinaigrette and tossed it with the greens for a super simple, but yummy salad.  Sometimes I forget a salad doesn’t have to have oodles of ingredients to hit the spot.

Trouchia from Global Gourmet

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

