Anotheryarn Eats

September 28, 2008

September 4: Broccoli with cheese sauce

Filed under: almost a recipe — Tags: , — anotheryarn @ 4:36 pm

A (british) vegan I know complained about how everyone in the US puts cheese on everything whether it needs it or not.  I agreed that I probably used too much cheese, but I always try to match my cheese to my veggie.  I love pairing beets with blue cheese (or chevre) for example.  And we love the combination of broccoli with cheddar in this house.  This night TheHusband requested broccoli with cheese sauce, I added the potatoes because we had some (I had intentions of mashed potatoes that never happened).  Generally we do a baked potato topped with steamed broccoli and homemade cheese sauce (or for the lazy, grated cheddar) but this night we had little new/creamer potatoes so I steamed them instead.

Potato topped with Broccoli and Cheddar Cheese sauce

  • Potatoes
  • Broccoli (be generous)
  • cheese sauce (see below)

Put a pan with a steamer insert on to boil, add quartered small potatoes.  After about 5 minutes add the broccoli florets and steam for 3-5 more minutes (you want bright green broccoli).  While this is cooking make the cheese sauce.  Once the cheese sauce is done plate everything and pour the cheese sauce over the veggies.

Cheddar Cheese Sauce

  • 1 T butter
  • 1 T flour
  • pinch of powdered mustard
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1 cup milk
  • big handful sharp cheddar cheese, grated (1/2 cup to 1 cup depending on personal taste)

This is really just your basic white sauce (IIRC bechamel) and I add cheese to it.  I sort of measure when I make this, but I’ve gotten lazy since I’ve been making it for about 18 years now – if you find 1 tablespoon of flour make a thinner sauce than you prefer up it to 1 1/2 tablespoons.  Or consult a general cookbook for more precise information.

In a small saucepan on med-high heat melt the butter and then sprinkle the flour and pinch of powdered mustard over the butter, stir with a whisk until it is slightly toasty and does smell raw.  Very slowly add the milk (I start by pouring maybe a tablespoon or two) and whisk until it is smooth, add more milk, whisk until smooth.  When you’ve added about half the milk in this manner you can probably pour more milk in and whisk until smooth.  You might want to turn the heat to medium at this point and stir occasionally when it has thickened slowly add handfuls of the grated cheese and whisk it in until melted, then add more cheese.  Taste and adjust salt & pepper.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

