Anotheryarn Eats

September 21, 2008

September 2: Roasted Veggie Bowl

Filed under: almost a recipe — Tags: , , , , — anotheryarn @ 4:00 pm

Last week I was poking around online and discovered a new food blog, Dinner with Julie (a year in my kitchen).  One of the recipes that grabbed me was her Roasted Veg with Quinoa and Feta.  And then I realized that I had oodles of veggies that needed to be cooked since it was pickup day (I didn’t even need to go out for the feta).  I was going to add a roasted beet that was waiting to be used, but it turns out I waited too long and it was ickily squishy.  I ended up making two sheets full of roasted veggies and a big pot of quinoa and it filled my largest bowl as I tossed it all together.  We had two servings for dinner and at least 3 more for lunches the rest of the week.

Roasted Veggie Bowl

(amounts are flexible, hence none listed; also I flat out don’t remember)

  • quinoa
  • green beans
  • summer squash
  • carrots
  • red onion
  • green bell peppers
  • garlic
  • salt & pepper
  • oil
  • feta

Preheat the oven to 375 F (or 400).  Cut up the veggies into bite size pieces, peel the garlic cloves, toss with oil and season with salt and pepper.  Spread out on a cookie sheet or baking pan (or two) making sure they are in a single layer.  I actually tossed the summer squash, onion and bell pepper together for one pan and the green beans and carrot on another.  I also put the green bean pan in about 10 minutes after the squash pan because I didn’t think they’d need as long in the oven.  

Make whatever amount of quinoa feels right to you.  I used 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups water and make it a lot like I make rice. Remember to rinse the quinoa first, dump it in the pan with water and then simmer it for around 15 to 20 minutes.  It will absorb all the water and get sort of translucent with an opaque ring when it is done.  Toss the quinoa in a bowl and then add the veggies and crumble the feta on top, toss everything together adjust seasonings if necessary and serve.

I ate this cold from the fridge for lunch splashed with a little red wine vinegar and was quite happy with it cold too.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

