Anotheryarn Eats

September 21, 2008

salsa fresca, a bit late

Filed under: Recipes by me — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 1:02 pm

In college I actually did a presentation on how to make fresh salsa in my public speaking class.  I made a huge batch and was then disappointed when the class didn’t get a chance to taste it – at least I was disappointed until I realized I didn’t have to share the salsa mwah-haha.  Though in the end I probably shared it with my roommates later that day.  Unfortunately this is also one of those dishes where I never use a recipe and my proportions change just slightly each time I make it (which is a lot like my grandmother’s recipe “well you chop some tomato and add some onion and chile pepper and cilantro and taste it”).  I aim for roughly one medium size tomato gets one jalapeno (no seeds) and some onion as well as chopped cilantro and a squeeze of lime juice.  I also always make a big batch and rarely have leftovers.

This salsa is also a great example of the something to avoid doing when you are trying to use all your CSA veggies.  Last week we got 4 jalapenos in our share and 3 very small tomatoes.  All three tomatoes would have only needed the smallest jalapeno.  So later that week at the farmer’s market we picked up 4 nice sized tomatoes, 1 huge onion and a bunch of cilantro.  Yeah, buying more produce to use up a small amount isn’t the wisest thing – but fresh salsa, gotta have fresh salsa at least a couple times a year and you gotta do it during tomato season.

tomato, onion & jalapeno cilantro

The basic idea is I cut up one medium to large tomato, 1/4 to 1/2 an onion and mince 1 jalapeno (seeded and inner white ribs removed).  Then I squeeze some lime juice (1/2 a lime), sprinkle some salt and add a handful of chopped cilantro.  Stir, taste test, adjust if necessary and enjoy.  Of course for my batch I used 2 or 3 tomatoes, about 3/4 of a large onion, 2 or 3 jalapenos and couple handfuls of cilantro and 1 lime.

 

all mixed together

all mixed together

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

