Anotheryarn Eats

August 28, 2008

August 26 dessert: blackberry crumble

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 4:08 pm

As I was putting away my CSA veggies on Tuesday night I noticed the nearly full pint of blackberries we bought from the farmer’s market last Saturday and luckily I immediately remembered the blackberry-basil basil-blackberry crumble I read about earlier in the day on The Bitten Word earlier in the day.  And we just got basil and apples that day.  Woo, I have everything we need to make this yummy sounding dessert.  How did the blackberries last so long in the fridge?  We found them lacking in flavor when eaten raw.

Refreshed from my cucumber dinner I set about to make a half-batch of basil-blackberry crumble (look at me making a recipe the same day I see it, look at me taking 2 more days before I post about it).  I was a little worried about the crumb recipe – it didn’t seem like nearly enough flour for the amount of butter, but I went ahead and followed it anyway (a quick perusal of my cookbooks didn’t find anything to confirm or deny these proportions).  I was surprised when the crumb mixture seemed to cover the unbaked fruit mixture, but once it was out of the oven my fears were confirmed – just not enough crumble covering the fruit.  But it still tasted fabulous.  Of course we decided at the very last minute it needed ice cream and so made a 10:20 pm trip to the grocery store for ice cream (and milk and balsamic vinegar-which worked out nicely).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

