Anotheryarn Eats

August 26, 2008

August 23 dinner: squashitas

Filed under: Recipes by me — Tags: , , , , — anotheryarn @ 5:26 pm

What are squashitas?  Squash Fajitas of course.  We had plans to make a nice big bowl of salsa fresca (that recipe will come later) and something for dinner.  As I surveyed the contents of the fridge I remembered the two remaining summer squashes and started discussing ideas with TheHusband.  “We could grill them…but what else would we have with it?  No, we can’t eat just salsa and chips for dinner.”  And so I decided to try out making veggie fajitas with the squash (and some onion and bell peppers).  This dish is also great because it makes it easy to invite our ominvore (and meatitarian) friends over as long as they bring their meat-o-choice with them.  I love build-your-own dishes for that reason.

Now I debated and debated whether or not to post the following picture, I took 3 and all were blurry – this was the best of the bunch; finally I decided if I could post poorly lit photos I could post a blurry photo.

 +  =

 

Squashitas

  • 2 summer squash (these were fairly big summer squash)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 white onion
  • handful of frozen tri-colored bell peppers (fresh would be better if you have it)
  • oil
  • 1 garlic clove, smooshed in garlic press (or minced)
  • salt
  • cumin (my guess 1/2 t)
  • chipotle powder (my guess 1/8 t)
also needed
  • queso fresco (or other cheese), crumbled
  • cilantro
  • salsa
  • sour cream
  • tortillas

Cut the summer squash into slices.  For the long squash that involved slicing it lengthwise, then in half so the slices were half-moon shapes; for the pattypan that involved cutting it into wedges and then slicing (think pie shapes).  Cut the onion into slices.  Cut your bell peppers if you need to (the frozen ones come pre-sliced).  Heat a skillet up and add some oil (a tablespoon or two), then add the onion (now I would also add fresh peppers) and start to cook it, when it is half-way soft add the squash and the frozen peppers.  When it is about cooked add the garlic, and salt.  Stir well, then add the cumin and chipotle powder (I didn’t measure it at all, just eyeballed it so those amounts above are guestimates of what I used) let it cook just a bit and then taste and adjust seasonings if needed.

Prep your toppings, crumbling or grating the cheese and tearing the cilantro into small pieces.  Heat your tortilla and add the filling and your preferred toppings.

1 Comment »

  1. […] of the funny moments was when I was reading the recipe and realized it looks almost exactly like my squashitas (I had to sub yellow summer squash for the zucchini but that happens, I doubt it matters too much). […]

    Pingback by September 9: Zucchini and pepper enchiladas « Anotheryarn Eats — September 28, 2008 @ 4:58 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

