Anotheryarn Eats

August 7, 2008

Lunches: Green Curry

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , — anotheryarn @ 2:36 pm

This was the dish that made me jump for joy because I had used up all of our veggies for the week (I’m not ready to talk about the herbs).  Granted we didn’t eat all the veggies yet but everything was prepped and ready to eat now.  And as much as I like to cook, once something is prepped I’m much more likely to grab it instead of munching on whatever hand-held snacks I can find in my pantry.

On Friday night we went out for thai food, it was while we were looking over the menu that I finally figured out what I could do with the huge head of broccoli and the some of the summer squashes in our fridge.  Of course I figure out what to make once we already were at a restaurant.  Oh well, it was nice to eat out for a change.  Originally I was going to make this on Sunday, but we both ended up eating on our own Sunday night.  And then I managed to overwhelm myself making the swiss chard gratin (too many dishes) so I didn’t make this Monday night either.  But I had already made the rice so I had to drag myself out of bed Tuesday morning, my last attempt at using up the veggies before that afternoon’s pick up.  

And I have to say, it is sort of nice having a weeks worth of lunches in the fridge, just waiting to be grabbed and reheated.  But also, taste-testing green curry at 7:45 in the morning results isn’t so fun (and might explain why this was not my best version of this dish).  And really this is just the recipe from the back of the curry jar as it has been adjusted for our preferences.  We make it with all sorts of veggies, depending on our mood (often adding tofu for protein) and fridge contents.

Easy Green Curry, with enough veggies it serves 4

  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 T to 1 T green curry paste (we have a jar of the Thai Kitchen curry paste)
  • 1 T fish sauce
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 1/3 c water
  • broccoli, cut into bite size florets and the stems chopped into bite sized pieces
  • summer squash cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/3 cup of frozen peas

Put on a pan of rice to cook before you start the curry.  Shake the can of coconut milk before you open it, and then just dump in a saucepan (we use a 4 qt pan, it has more than enough room, a 2 qt would probably be okay too) and whisk in the curry paste to incorporate.  The jar says 1 to 2 tablespoons but we’ve found somewhere between 1/2 to 1 tablespoons is our preference.  Let it simmer while you prep the veggies.  Add the brown sugar (jar says 2 tablespoons, I thought I’d try 1 this time) and fish sauce and water (jar says chicken stock, I was being lazy).  Add your veggies, you might want to add those that take longer to cook first and adjust the time accordingly.  Let it simmer until the veggies are cooked and then serve with rice.  Or in my case dish up into individual servings and toss it in the fridge.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

