Anotheryarn Eats

August 7, 2008

August 4 dinner: Salad and chard gratin

Filed under: almost a recipe, Recipes — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 12:53 pm

I love big salads.  This salad was inspired by my memory of a salad at a little natural foods cafe in my college town (oh how I miss that cafe).  One of the new-to-me ingredients was raw grated beets.  So I saved one beet from the pink and green pasta.  And we needed to use up the huge head of lettuce from last week (not all in this salad, but at least I got it prepped and ready to eat) before Tuesday’s pick up which was sure to include another head of lettuce.  And I also started craving the tahini dressing that I could get at that natural foods cafe (all her dressing were so good, the owner started selling take-home containers of her dressings).

This salad started with romaine lettuce and is topped with grated carrots, grated beets, sliced radishes, sliced cucumbers and raw pumpkins seeds.  Then I made a tahini-lemon dressing (it was some tahini sauce from TJs, lemon juice and olive oil – the olive oil helped tone down the harsh lemon juice acid).  I still need to work on a better tahini dressing though.  Peeling the raw beet was much easier than I imagined, and I used the food processor for nice fine grated shreds and quickly rinsed it to avoid staining.

I almost forgot that I attempted to make this chard gratin.  But my version didn’t turn out nearly as pretty as The Wednesday Chef’s version.  For one thing, I didn’t have enough chard to even fill out my casserole dish (it barely filled half the dish).  Luckily it turned out to be a good amount for two.  Also I overcooked the chard so it was no longer a pretty green and had enough breadcrumbs, and milk added for the full recipe.  Oh well, it was still yummy enough.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

