Anotheryarn Eats

August 7, 2008

August 2 dinner: Herbed bean burgers and coleslaw

Filed under: Recipes, Recipes by me — Tags: , , , , — anotheryarn @ 12:37 pm

Last week we got a small head of green cabbage for the first time.  I knew I wanted to make coleslaw, and I wanted to include horseradish as Splatgirl mentioned a week or so ago and at the last minute decided to include radishes since Smitten Kitchen posted the scrumptious looking salad with napa cabbage.  But what to have in addition to coleslaw?  It was a cold and dreary day so of course I thought of grilled burgers?  My mind is weird, it craves ice cream when I’m cold too.  Of course we don’t cook meat at home anymore and I’m not a huge fan of store-bought veggie burger or veggie dogs, I’m not even actually a big hamburger fan.  I think I want one about once a year.  

Luckily I thought of a recipe for homemade black bean burgers; but then thought about how I had 5 cans of cannellini beans in the pantry and didn’t I see a white bean burger recipe somewhere?  Which of course sent me on my usual “how many recipes can I find to evaluate” search.  (There is a herbed white bean burger recipe in Simple Vegetarian Pleasures, but I didn’t follow her recipe.)  In the end I looked at four or five recipes and came up with my own for herbed bean burgers (my technique needs some tweaking but I look forward to making more variations of bean burgers).  We served them on lightly toasted multigrain buns with fresh tomato, lettuce and a mayo-dijon mixture.  And they paired excellently with the coleslaw.

The coleslaw however was a case of too many ideas implemented in one dish.  I used the coleslaw recipe from The New Best Recipe and I think that it would have been great on its own, but I mucked with the delicate flavor of the dressing – and horseradish plus radishes was just overkill.  I do stand by my addition of a second carrot.

Herbed Bean Bugers

  • 1 can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/3 c bulger wheat
  • green onions to equal 1/2 cup or so
  • handful fresh parsley
  • 8-10 fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 t. dried oregano
  • 1 t soy sauce
  • 1/3 c bread crumbs
  • 1 egg

Place the bulgar wheat in a small bowl pour 2/3 cup boiling water over it, cover and let it sit for about 10 minutes (or however long it takes to prep the rest of the ingredients).  Roughly chop the green onions and place in the food processor, add the parsley and basil and oregano and pulse until they are minced.  Drain the bulger wheat of any excess water, you should have about 3/4 cup of bulgar wheat.  Add the beans, bulger wheat and soy sauce to the food processor.  Pulse to combine.  Try not to let it get too mushy.  Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.  Add the bread crumbs and egg to the mixture.  Pulse to combine.  

Be careful to not overprocess this or you will up up with a burger mixture that is the consistency of dip (what I had).  It will be rather wet though, from what I read a little too wet is better than too dry.  If it is too dry add a bit of liquid (maybe another egg, maybe a bit of egg white, maybe even water – though I’m not sure on the water), if it is too liquidy add more bread crumbs.   Hmm, maybe those bread crumbs should be added last?  I’ll have to try that next time.

Shape into 4 patties and place on waxed paper (I froze two patties and cooked two patties).  Heat a skillet to medium-high and add oil.  When the oil is hot place the patties in the skillet.  Let them cook until golden brown and then flip, about 5-6 minutes per side.

 

Coleslaw with buttermilk dressing from The New Best Recipe, serves 4 (very generously IMO)

  • 1 pound red or green cabbage (about 1/2 a medium head), shredded fine or chopped
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 2 medium carrots, peeled and grated
  • 4 radishes, diced

the dressing

  • 1/2 c. buttermilk
  • 2 T mayonnaise
  • 2 T sour cream
  • 1 small shallot, minced
  • 2 T minced fresh parsley
  • 1/2 t cider vinegar
  • 1/4 t dijon mustard
  • 1/2 t sugar
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/8 t black pepper
  • 1 t horseradish

Toss the cabbage with 1 teaspoon salt and leave in a colander or large mesh strainer to wilt and drain for 1 to 4 hours.  Rinse the cabbage well and drain (don’t squeeze it).  Combine the cabbage and carrot in a large bowl.  Whisk together the dressing ingredients and pour over the cabbage, carrots, radishes and toss.  Keeps for 3 days in the fridge.

(My mods: the second carrot, 4 radishes and 1 teaspoon of horseradish in the dressing.  As I said above, skip the horseradish in the dressing as it is too assertive. Or did I use too much?  hmmm)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

