Anotheryarn Eats

July 25, 2008

July 24 dinner: pizza and salad

Filed under: Recipes by me — Tags: , — anotheryarn @ 8:49 am

I made the meal sound so simple, but I actually really went a bit over the top.  As we were walking TheDog after dinner TheHusband mentioned how impressed he has been with my cooking lately, how I keep making these great complicated dinners.  First I thought, huh, I hadn’t realized dinners had gotten so boring; then I wondered if I was trying to outdo myself for this blog.  I probably am a little bit; luckily as I was prepping everything for dinner tonight I thought that I should make a nice simple rice + steamed veggies meal very soon.  That might have also been around the moment I realized I’ve been using a lot of oil and cheese in the past few meals.  And while I ended up liking dinner I think I’m even more excited that I used up both bunches of spinach tonight.  Yay.

So I planned for pizza tonight, a non-traditional pizza topped with greens, loosely based on this Chard and Chevre pizza from the March 2008 Vegetarian Times.  So yesterday I make a recipe that calls for spinach with chard and today I make a recipe that calls for chard with spinach…  And then a spinach salad started sounding good, and we had leftover hard-boiled eggs to use; and hey isn’t blue cheese and bacon good too?  Except of course we no longer cook meat in our house, so I decided to try fakon (fake bacon).  Fake bacon, at least the Morningstar version, tastes a lot like bacon flavored toast when eaten plain (I baked mine, maybe frying with extra oil would have helped); luckily crumbled into salad it wasn’t too noticeable.

Spinach Salad: spinach torn into bite size pieces, crumbled hardboiled egg, crumbled gorgonzola, crumbled fakon and a balsamic vinaigrette (balsamic vinegar, dijon mustard, S & P, olive oil)

Pizza with greens

  • pizza dough
  • 1 small bunch beet greens
  • 1 bunch spinach
  • oil
  • garlic
  • sun-dried tomatoes (packed in oil and sliced)
  • roasted garlic cloves
  • 2 oz crumbled goat cheese

Preheat the oven to 450 F.  You will want to prep everything first because you will be sauteing the greens while the pizza crust par-bakes and after that it goes together very quickly.  Wash and dry your spinach and beet greens removing any tough stems, then coarsely chop them and set aside.  Prep your sun-dried tomatoes, garlic and goat cheese and set aside.  Roll out your pizza dough – I had two small individual dough size balls from my freezer that had sort of morphed together, it rolled into a approximately 12-inch pizza.  Oil a baking sheet and place the pizza on it, brush the crust (that will remain exposed) with a bit of flavored oil if you like.  Bake for about 5-8 minutes, you want it to be semi-done.  While it bakes heat a big skillet up and add oil and 1 minced clove garlic.  Saute the greens, sprinkling with a bit of salt.  When they are wilted and bright green turn off the heat (you might need to throw in a tablespoon of water and cover the skillet if you greens are dry – if you do this make sure to then let some of that water evaporate).  Pull the pizza out and top with the wilted greens, the sun-dried tomatoes, garlic and goat cheese.  Put it back in the oven and check after 5 minutes.  It will probably need 5-10 minutes before the toppings are hot and the cheese is melty.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

