Anotheryarn Eats

July 22, 2008

July 21 dinner: kohlrabi and squash empanadas

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 10:59 pm

I finally got around to making the Kohlrabi and Squash Empanadas from Straight From the Farm.  I followed her recipe, perhaps being overly generous with the ginger and skipping the radish (none in the fridge).  I made my own pie crust (and was pleasantly surprised to find making pie crust dough took all of 10 minutes).  I’ve been using the piecrust from the KitchenAid food processor recipe booklet since we got the food processor and think it is fabulous, but what makes it even better is when I up the butter to be in equal amounts with the shortening (which actually makes it quite close to the TNBR pie crust).  So I made a double-crust recipe (a slightly skimpy double crust recipe which calls for 2 cups of flour) and stuck it in the fridge to chill while I made the filling.  Then I made the great discovery that my bowls are 6″ in diameter so I used that to trace my doug circles.  I managed to get 8 circles from my crust dough and the filling recipe filled all 8 nearly perfectly, though I think I used closer to 2 tablespoons per empanada.  My crimping leaves a bit to be desired, but none of them leaked while in the oven.

I also made a simple green salad with a red wine vinaigrette, the red leaf lettuce, a bit of red onion and leftover cherry tomatoes.  It was a very tasty dinner and I’d definitely make these again, but I need to come up with a sauce for dipping.  Hopefully the four remaining empanadas that I threw in the freezer will reheat nicely.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

