Anotheryarn Eats

July 15, 2008

July 14 dinner: pasta with swiss chard

Filed under: Recipes by me — Tags: , , — anotheryarn @ 3:18 pm

I only had to make dinner for myself last night.  So I scaled my swiss chard ideas back to a quick dinner premise: pasta + vegetable = dinner.  I had a couple specific recipes tagged, but didn’t feel like scaling down the quantities and we seemed to be out of at least one ingredient per recipe, so I just winged it tonight (though the apple cider vinegar and pine nuts are nods to two recipes I looked at).  I also had a bit of leftover heavy cream and since I don’t think you can go wrong combining heavy cream with pasta I added that too.  In hindsight, I made too much pasta but not enough chard, if I had just increased the chard I think this could have served two instead of one.

Pasta with Swiss Chard and pine nuts

  • 6 stems swiss chard
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • handful pine nuts
  • canola oil & olive oil
  • heavy cream
  • 1 t apple cider vinegar
  • salt & pepper
  • freshly grated parmesan
  • lemon-pepper pasta

Start the water boiling for the pasta.  Wash and lightly dry the chard, then cut the leaves into ribbons.  Cut all or some of the stems into thin pieces.  Heat a skillet on medium and toast the pine nuts, then set them aside.  Add oil to the skillet.  When it is hot add the chard stems, when they are soft add the garlic.  As soon as the garlic is fragrant add the chard ribbons and a pinch of salt then cover it to capture any steam.  Within 30 seconds to 1 minute check to see how much the chard has wilted and stir.  Cover again.  Just as the chard turns bright green and is just barely wilted add vinegar plus about a tablespoon of water and cover the skillet again.  Once the water and vinegar have evaporated add 1/8 cup heavy cream and stir to coat the chard.  Take it off the heat but leave it in the pan.  When the pasta is done cooking add the hot past to the pan and toss.  Add a little more cream if needed and then grate the cheese and top and stir.  Add freshly ground pepper to taste and top with the toasted pine nuts.

1 Comment »

  1. […] but I was hungry and we had too much food in the fridge to go out to eat.  I ended up making this pasta with chard dish again, but for two.  I’m not really sure if I wrote horrible directions for that recipe or […]

    Pingback by October 18: Pasta and chard again « Anotheryarn Eats — October 22, 2008 @ 2:36 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

