Anotheryarn Eats

July 10, 2008

Leftovers

Filed under: thoughts — anotheryarn @ 10:13 pm

I’m actually a big fan of leftovers.  More yummy food with less work.  Of course sometimes I misjudge what will be good leftover and what will be disappointing.

I didn’t think leftover sauteed greens would be any good.  However the Bitter Greens with Sweet Onions and Sour Cherries had a full serving leftover and I couldn’t throw it out.  So I stuck it in the fridge and reheated it the next day.  It reheated suprisingly well.  I threw it in my small (8″) non-stick skillet with a lid and just stirred a couple times, I don’t think I even added any extra liquid or oil.  It reheated quickly too.  Then I plopped it on a plate and used the same pan to heat a slice of polenta.  That didn’t work quite as well since the yummy crunchy bits decided to stay on the skillet when I slid it onto the plate.  But all in all I did not notice a severe decline in taste of the greens.  Yay for a yummy lunch.

Sadly, I thought the napa cabbage based asian-style slaw would keep decently.  Except it didn’t really, I mean it was edible but it screamed “left-over” because the napa cabbage got rather wilty.  Oh well.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

