Anotheryarn Eats

July 10, 2008

July 10 dinner: bitter greens with cream and shallots

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , , — anotheryarn @ 10:28 pm

Tonight I broiled some polenta slices topped with grated parmasan and served it along side the TNBR recipe bitter greens with cream and shallots.  It was decent, but nothing amazing.  However the blanching process that TNBR recommends with stronger (“more assertive”) greens like kale, turnip greens, mustard greens and collards reminded me of something that was silly to forget in the first place.  If you need to use a lot of greens up-blanch them.  I forgot to take the before picture so please imagine this salad spinner heaped full of greens, it wasn’t spilling over but a lid would not have fit snug against the top either.  And after I blanched and spun but not yet squeezed the greens it looked like this:

Bitter Greens with cream and shallots -from The New Best Recipe but cut in half to serve 2

  • 1 small bunch kale
  • 1 bunch mustard greens
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • 1/4 t sugar
  • 1/4 t fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1 T. heavy cream
  • Salt & pepper
So I blanched the greens, mostly following TNBR basic blanched green recipe -prep greens by removing tough stems and roughly chop then dump the greens in boiling water for 7 minutes.  Except I forgot the salt.  Oops.  I did the kale and mustard greens separately because I didn’t feel the mustard greens needed a full 7 minutes, I should have just dumped them in 2 minutes after the kale instead.  I transferred the cooked greens into my salad spinner, and rinsed them with cold water, then filled it with enough cold water to make sure that they cooled.  Then drained and spun them.  After that I squeezed small handfuls of greens to further remove water.  And I chopped them again.  Then throw the butter in a small skillet on medium, add the shallot (and salt due to the above oops), let it soften and add the greens, tossing to coat with the butter.  Then add the cream, sugar and thyme and stir so everything gets coated and let it all heat up.
I was expecting something much saucier than what resulted.  I mean it tasted decent, but TNBR’s idea of making “assertive” greens mellow made them sort of non-descript to me.  It felt like a lot of work for what ended up being a side dish.  I suppose you could do a good portion of the work (the blanching and water squeezing) earlier but eh.  Oh well, I tried it.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

