Anotheryarn Eats

July 7, 2008

the beginning

Filed under: thoughts — Tags: — anotheryarn @ 7:28 pm

In late March I realized that I better get a move on if I wanted to actually join a CSA this year.  I did a wee bit of internet research, found a site that listed a large number of CSAs for my metro area and started checking out websites.  I narrowed down my choices based on proximity (some of the CSAs are actually located a couple hours drive away) and pick-up options.  We knew we wanted to be able to pick-up our produce during the week leaving us free to make weekend plans through the summer (like camping) and giving us the option to stop by our Farmers Market of choice on the weekend if we actually run out of produce or just feel like it.  Finally I emailed a couple CSAs to inquire about availability, took a deep breath and picked one.

Then the waiting started; the PNW had a cold wet spring and from what I understand this prevented our farm from getting plants in the ground and delayed the start of our shares.  It did leave me wondering if the other CSAs (and farms showing up at the market) are using large green-houses or it is simple a matter of micro-climates that our CSA seemed to start much later than many others.  At one point TheHusband looked at me and asked, “did we already give them our money?” and I said, “yes, that is the point…this is a gamble to help the farm get more money upfront.” So we went to the Farmers Market on the weekends and tried to wait patiently.

I did consider joining the One Local Summer effort but I don’t think I’m that dedicated, which, I suppose, it kind of sad; of course since our shares didn’t start until way later than the start date it is probably for the best.  But I did think it would be fun to chronicle my weekly share and what I do with it.  I’m looking forward to the challenge of using up all my vegetables.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

