Anotheryarn Eats

July 7, 2008

July 5: the cheating Tabbouleh

Filed under: Recipes by me — Tags: — anotheryarn @ 11:46 pm

As I mentioned earlier, this week I picked up parsley, cucumbers (technically they are pickling cucumbers but I find them to delicious to eat fresh) and tomatoes.  I sort of felt like I was cheating on my CSA farm and felt bad that I wasn’t checking on the organic status of each vendor, but tabbouleh just sounded so good, especially if we ended up making the garlic-lemon lamb kabobs as we discussed earlier in the week (we didn’t and so I brought potato salad to the bbq).  And I know this blog is about what I’m making from the CSA but I feel like stuff from the Farmer’s Market should kind of count too (oh wait, I did use most of the bunch of mint in this recipe yay I think it counts).  Plus I was pleased with my tabouleh rendition and would like to be able to find it again.

 tabbouleh

I started with 4 recipes: the tabouleh from The New Best Recipe, and 3 print-outs from the last time I made tabouleh (in um, 2004).  None of them felt quite right as I probably sort of followed all three last time too, and while TNBR has not let me down it didn’t include cucumber and I swear my favorite tabouleh from that little cafe in my college town had cucumbers in it (TNBR recipe also had green onions and I totally forgot to buy those).  Both TNBR and my gourmet/epicurious recipe (Lebanese Tabbouleh from Gourmet June 2002) suggest using a box of tabouleh mix if you can’t find fine bulgar; as far as I could tell, of the three boxes I found at the grocery store only one, Near East, packaged the bulgar separate from the spice mix.  But this box contained more bulgar than TNBR called for.  In the end I made the bulgar as TNBR directed and then mostly followed the other ingredients based on the gourmet/epicurious recipe, and then tweaked the TNBR dressing.  Oh and I added some diced feta as I read that somewhere recently and it sounded good.

My Tabouleh, no claim to authenticity

  • 3/4 cup fine bulgar (entire small box)
  • 3/8 cup lemon juice
  • big bunch flat leaf parsley
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 medium sized pickling cucumbers
  • small bunch mint
  • 1/8 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • pinch salt
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • feta

Rinse the bulgar in a fine mesh colander, drain it and dump in a bowl.  Add the 3/8 cup of lemon juice and set aside to soften/plump/get fluffy.  Chop the tomato and cucumber into your preferred diced (I like 1/4″ or so); wash and dry the parsley, removing the majority of the tough stems then finely chop all of it.  Wash, dry and finely chop the mint leaves.  I think I had about 1 1/2-2 cups of tomato, 1 1/2-2 cups of cucumber, 2-3 cups of parsley and 1/4-1/2 cup of mint (I’ll use less mint next time).  When the bulgar is soft enough and fluffy toss with the vegetables and herbs.  Whisk together the 1/8 cup lemon juice, 1/4 cup olive oil, salt and cayenne and toss with the salad.  I served the salad topped with some diced feta and think it really added to it.

To bulk up our meal we also had some baguette with super yummy cheese.

1 Comment »

  1. this sounds delicious, and you’re totally right to add little cucs. I can’t wait till they are in season here, and I’m going to make this. I bet I can even get the 3-yr old to eat it…

    Comment by nikki — July 9, 2008 @ 10:40 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

